Universitá di Catania – Dipartimento di Agricoltura, Alimentazione e Ambiente (Catania, Italy)

 di3aThe Dipartimento di Agricoltura, Alimentazione e Ambiente - Di3A is one of 18 Departments and 2 Didactic Units of University of Catania, the oldest University in Sicily (funded by Alonso d’Arago’ in 1434) and one of the largest in Italy with more than 60,000 students and about 1,500 professors/researchers.

The Di3A represents a multidisciplinary group of researchers mainly focusing on agricultural engineering, hydraulics and watershed protection, plant pathology, applied entomology, agri-food economics. The Department has several facilities and laboratories to sustain the research and teaching activities. The Academic and research staff of the Department attracts public funding from regional, national and international bodies. Moreover, the active relationship with the rural and industrial world is testified by the numerous contracts with national and international enterprises. The research group on Hydraulics and Soil Conservation has particularly expertise on agricultural water management, wastewater treatment, reclamation and reuse and has carried out research activities mainly focused on wastewater treatment and reuse ; irrigation methods; agricultural water requirements; reservoir management; sustainable biomass production; watershed protection.

Role in Watintech: co-leader of WP 1 (water reclamation)

 

Research team:

Prof. Giuseppe Luigi Cirelli
giuseppe.cirelli@unict.it

Dr. Salvatore Barbagallo
salvo.barbagallo@unict.it

Prof. Simona Consoli
simona.consoli@unict.it

Dr. Mirco Milani
mirco.milani@unict.it                          

Dr. Alessia Marzo
alessia.marzo@unict.it

Dr. Daniela Vanella
d.vanella@yahoo.it                           

Dr. Delia Ventura

delia.ventura@unict.it