ICRA – Catalan Institute for Water Research (Girona, Spain)

ICRAThe Catalan Institute for Water Research (ICRA) is a research centre created for research and innovation in the sustainable use of water. Its specificity is in encompassing several strategic areas of water research, i.e., chemistry, ecology, water technology, and microbiology, in a single Institute. ICRA focuses research of the integral water cycle, hydraulic resources, water quality (in the broadest sense of the term: chemical, microbiological, ecological, etc.) and treatment and evaluation technologies and to transfer this knowledge to society and business network. ICRA Research Plan is structured in three major research areas: technologies and evaluation, resources and ecosystems and water quality.

Watintech is coordinated by the Technologies and evaluation area, which investigates aspects around the complete urban water cycle from water supply to wastewater collection, transport and treatment, recycling, resource recovery and reuse.

Role in Watintech: coordination of the project and leader of WPs 2 (energy recovery), 3 (sewer corrosion control) and 6 (project management).

Research team:

Prof. Ignasi Rodriguez-Roda
irodriguezroda@icra.cat 

Dr. Wolfgang Gernjak
wgernjak@icra.cat

Dr. Maite Pijuan
mpijuan@icra.cat

Dr. Oriol Gutierrez
ogutierrez@icra.cat

Dr. Jelena Radjenovic
jradjenovic@icra.cat

Natalia Sergienko
nsergienko@icra.cat

Federico Ferrari
fferrari@icra.cat

Administration:

Jaume Alemany
jalemany@icra.cat

Laura Bertolini
lbertolini@icra.cat